Cooperation between amateur and professional paleontologists at NAPC

by Bill Heim (@bill-heim) Even though my presentation was only about 5 minutes long, I found the entire conference not only informative but entertaining as well.  I attended many of the presentations.  I also spent a lot of time with the posters, talking with the presenters about their research.  In the majority of both cases, I usually […]


Category: NAPC 2019

(Micro)Fossil Bonanza at NAPC 2019!

by Adriane Lam (@adriane-lam) Vertebrates: let’s face it, they tend to steal the show when it comes to paleontology. They’ve enraptured the imaginations of children and adults for decades with their large teeth, ferocious portrayals, and dramatic dioramas featured in many a museum. Regardless of having a much less complete fossil record than invertebrates or […]


Category: NAPC 2019

UF graduate student presents final research results at NAPC

by Isaac Magallanes (@imagallanes) My experience at NAPC 2019 was extremely positive and enriching. As a native southern Californian, I was looking forward to returning to my home state for the summer to present my master’s research which I had just finished defending about 2 weeks prior. On June 27, I gave a presentation titled […]


Category: NAPC 2019

Citizen Scientist attends 11th North American Paleontological Convention

By Cindy Lockner (@cindy-lockner) Wonder what it’s like to be around hundreds of paleontologists from all over the world? I had the pleasure of finding out by attending the 11th North American Paleontological Convention in Riverside, CA.  I am so thankful that I was asked by FOSSIL to represent a citizen scientist’s point of view […]


Category: NAPC 2019

NAPC and a family of paleontologists

By Jeanette Pirlo (@jeanette-pirlo) I can say with full confidence that the North American Paleontological Convention at UC Riverside is hands down my favorite conference that I’ve attended. Now that’s saying a lot as I’ve been lucky and have attended quite a few conferences in my short time with the FOSSIL Project.  What made NAPC […]


Category: NAPC 2019

Journey to the Center of myFOSSIL: One Graduate Student’s Perspective

By Lisa Lundgren (@llundgren) NAPC 2019 was the culmination of all my experiences with the FOSSIL Project. At NAPC 2014, I started as Lisa Lundgren, a project assistant with the FOSSIL Project. At that time, I had no idea that the FOSSIL project would be a pillar of my life for the next five years. […]


Category: NAPC 2019

Graduate Student Reflection of NAPC

By Victor Perez (@vperez) I had the privilege to present at the 2019 NAPC conference on public-professional collaborations in paleontology research. My presentation was one among many funded by the FOSSIL Project and highlighted the role the public has played in my own personal research, while offering suggestions for how the myFOSSIL website could facilitate […]


Category: NAPC 2019

Opportunities for new collaborations with professional and avocational paleontologists at NAPC

By Sarah Sheffield (@sarah-sheffield) Conferences are always an excellent chance to catch up with old friends and colleagues, learn about novel research in the field, and make new connections to take your research into exciting, new directions. NAPC was no exception, but because of support from the FOSSIL Project, I used the opportunity to communicate […]


Category: NAPC 2019

NAPC Embraces Amateur Paleontology

by Bill Heimbrock, Cincinnati Dry Dredgers (@bheimbrock) Amateur paleontologists are welcome and encouraged to give talks at the North American Paleontological Convention. NAPC is held every 4 or 5 years. I’ve been attending them since it was hosted in Cincinnati, Ohio in 2009. So this one is my third NAPC attending as an amateur paleontologist […]


Category: NAPC 2019

NAPC Experience as an Educator

By Denise Porcello (@denise-porcello) As an elementary teacher, I was honored to attend NAPC, to speak of my involvement with the Fossil Project. During the week, I got a glimpse of the life of a paleontologist beyond the field. The paleontologists welcomed me in to their community, and patiently answered all of my questions. The […]


Category: NAPC 2019