Aurora Fossil Museum Fossil Identification Sheet

  AuroraFossilMuseum_FossilIdentificationSheet


Category: Document

2017 FOSSILs4Teachers Application

  FOSSILs_Application_Form


Category: Document

2017 FOSSILs4Teachers Professional Development Working Agenda

Fossils for Teachers- Working Agenda


Category: Document

Lesson Plan Poster: Who Pooped in the Past?

♦ SUMMARY: Who Pooped in the Past? – A lesson created by Ginny Switt (@ginny-switt), Denise Porcello (@denise-porcello), Pam Plummer (@pam-plummer), Sue Coller (@scoller), and John Westgaard (@john-westgaard) ♦ AUDIENCE: 1-3, Elementary School, First (1st) Grade, Second (2nd) Grade, Third (3rd) Grade ♦ TOPICS/THEMES: Ichnology, Paleoichnology, Trace Fossils, Diet, Behavior, Coprolite, Trace Fossils, Biology, Paleontology, Geology ♦ INSTRUCTIONS: Click on the […]


Category: K-12

Lesson Plan Poster: Inference with Fossils: A Third Grade Project Based Lesson

♦ SUMMARY: Inference with Fossils – a Third Grade Project Based STEM Lesson – A lesson created by Alicia Foy (@alicia-foy) ♦ AUDIENCE: Third (3rd) Grade, Elementary School ♦ TOPICS/THEMES: Scientific Method, Classification, Measurement, Taxonomy ♦ INSTRUCTIONS: Click on the link below to access the poster of the lesson. Please contact the author with any questions. Foy_Poster


Category: K-12

Lesson Plan Poster: Paleo Invasions: For Better or For Worse? A Philosophical Debate

♦ SUMMARY: Paleo Invasions: For Better or For Worse? A Philosophical Debate – A lesson created by Stephanie Killingsworth (@skillingsworth), Jennifer Bauer (@jbauer), and Aaron Woodruff (@aaron-woodruff) ♦ AUDIENCE: 6-8, Middle School, Sixth (6th) Grade, Seventh (7th) Grade, Eighth (8th) Grade ♦ TOPICS/THEMES: Migrations, Invasive Species, Philosophy, Paleontology, Geology, GABI, Natural Selection, Adaptation, Ecology ♦ INSTRUCTIONS: Click on the link below […]


Category: K-12

Lesson Plan Poster: Using Fossils to Determine Earth’s Past

♦ SUMMARY: Using Fossils to Determine Earth’s Past – A lesson created by Lara Greene (@lara-greene), Glenn Greene (@glenn-greene), and Danielle Brennan (@danielle-brennan) ♦ AUDIENCE: 9-12, High School, Ninth (9th) Grade, Tenth (10th) Grade, Eleventh (11th) Grade, Twelfth (12th) Grade ♦ TOPICS/THEMES: Eocene, Matrix, Fossils, Geologic Time, Evolution, Taphonomy, Field Notes, Scientific Method, Scientific Evidence ♦ INSTRUCTIONS: Click on the link […]


Category: K-12

Resource: FLMNH Climate Change Wall Infographic

♦ SUMMARY: The Florida Museum of Natural History has provided a PDF version of their climate change wall panels.  This is a great resource for any classroom! ♦ AUDIENCE: 4-12, Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Fourth (4th) Grade, Fifth (5th) Grade, Sixth (6th) Grade, Seventh (7th) Grade, Eighth (8th) Grade, Ninth (9th) Grade, Tenth (10th) Grade, […]


Category: Document, K-12, Resource

Lesson Plan: Anatomical Similarities and Differences Between Modern and Ancient Humans Using Fossil Evidence

♦ SUMMARY: Anatomical Similarities and Differences Between Modern and Ancient Humans Using Fossil Evidence – A lesson created by Molly Shaw (@mollydeich) and Luke Webb ♦ AUDIENCE: Sixth (6th) Grade, Middle School ♦ TOPICS/THEMES: Archaeology, Anthropology, Fossils, Evolution, Humans, Scientific Method, Scientific Evidence, Morphology, Anatomy ♦ INSTRUCTIONS: Click on the link below to access the poster of the lesson. Please contact the author […]


Category: Document, K-12, Resource

Lesson Plan: Mammal Skull vs Reptile Skull

♦ SUMMARY: Mammal Skull vs Reptile Skull – A lesson created by Rebecca Mussetter ♦ AUDIENCE: Third (3rd) Grade, Elementary School ♦ TOPICS/THEMES: Scientific Method, Classification, Measurement, Taxonomy, Creative, Hands-On, Morphology, Mammals, Reptiles, Fossils, Skulls, Diapsid, Synapsid, Evolution ♦ INSTRUCTIONS: Click on the link below to access the lesson. Please contact the author with any questions. 3D printed skulls of various […]


Category: Document, K-12, Resource