Category: Document

1 2 3 5

myFOSSIL Educational Series: Fossils in the Making (K-5)

August 12th, 2019 by

LESSON TITLE: myFOSSIL Educational Series: Fossils in the Making AUTHOR (S): Sadie Mills (University of Florida, Florida Museum of Natural History) Sam Ocon (University of Florida, Florida Museum of Natural History) Mary Jane Hughes (University of Florida, Florida Museum of Natural History) GRADE LEVEL: 3th – 5th grade TIME FRAME: One 45-60 minute class period; […]

Lesson- Supersized Life: Comparing Across Scales

October 1st, 2018 by

♦ LEARNING GOAL: To give students an intuitive sense and appreciation of how large changes by orders of magnitude are. ♦ AUDIENCE: K-12, Elementary School, Fourth (4th) Grade, Fifth (5th) Grade ♦ TOPICS/THEMES: Math, Paleontology, Fossils, Modeling ♦ INSTRUCTIONS: Click on the link below to access the full lesson plan on iDigFossils.org: http://www.idigfossils.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/Supersized_Life_Comparing_Across_Scales.pdf

Resource: Fossil Horse Activity Booklet by NARG

September 5th, 2018 by

♦ SUMMARY: Evolution of Fossil Horses Activity Booklet, Produced by the North America Research Group ♦ AUDIENCE: K-12 ♦ TOPICS/THEMES: Paleontology, Fossils, Fossil Club, Horses               Horse FossilFest Activity Booklet Answer Key

Miocene Shark Teeth Poster from the Calvert Marine Museum

July 13th, 2018 by

                    CMM SHARK POSTER(full size poster image)  

Lesson Plan: Florida Fossil Outreach

February 20th, 2018 by

♦ SUMMARY: Florida Fossil Outreach – A lesson created by TriciaLynn Glotfelty (@tricialynn-glotfelty). ♦ AUDIENCE: K-12, Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Kindergarten, First (1st) Grade, Second (2nd) Grade, Third (3rd) Grade, Fourth (4th) Grade, Fifth (5th) Grade, Sixth (6th) Grade, Seventh (7th) Grade, Eighth (8th) Grade, Ninth (9th) Grade, Tenth (10th) Grade, Eleventh (11th) Grade, Twelfth […]

Lesson Plan: How to be a model

February 20th, 2018 by

♦ SUMMARY: How to be a model – A lesson created by Amanda Weeks Hughes (@amanda-weekshughes) ♦ AUDIENCE: K-12, Elementary School, Middle School, High School, Kindergarten, First (1st) Grade, Second (2nd) Grade, Third (3rd) Grade, Fourth (4th) Grade, Fifth (5th) Grade, Sixth (6th) Grade, Seventh (7th) Grade, Eighth (8th) Grade, Ninth (9th) Grade, Tenth (10th) Grade, Eleventh […]

Lesson Plan: What’s for Dinner?

February 20th, 2018 by

♦ SUMMARY: What’s for dinner? – A lesson created by Denise Porcello (@denise-porcello), John Westgaard (@john-westgaard), Ginny Switt (@ginny-switt),  Sue Coller (@scoller), and Pam Plummer (@pam-plummer). ♦ AUDIENCE: K-3, Elementary School, Kindergarten, First (1st) Grade, Second (2nd) Grade, Third (3rd) Grade ♦ TOPICS/THEMES: Fossil teeth, Fossils, Paleontology, Ecology, Morphology, Diet, Behavior ♦ INSTRUCTIONS: Click on the link below to access the poster […]

Lesson Plan: Geologic Time Activity

February 20th, 2018 by

♦ SUMMARY: Geologic Time Activity – A lesson created by Monika Mishra (@monika-mishra) ♦ AUDIENCE: K-5 , Elementary School,Kindergarten, First (1st) Grade, Second (2nd) Grade, Third (3rd) Grade, Fourth (4th) Grade, Fifth (5th Grade) ♦ TOPICS/THEMES: Geologic Time, Evolution, Classification, Geology, Paleontology, Fossils ♦ INSTRUCTIONS: Click on the link below to access the poster of the lesson. Please contact the author […]

Lesson Plan: What’s for lunch?

February 20th, 2018 by

♦ SUMMARY: What’s for lunch? – A lesson created by Shane Kraft (@shane-kraft) ♦ AUDIENCE: K-5, Elementary School, Kindergarten, First (1st) Grade, Second (2nd) Grade, Third (3rd) Grade, Fourth (4th) Grade, Fifth (5th) Grade ♦ TOPICS/THEMES: Coprolite, Teeth, Fossils, Diet, Paleontology, Behavior, Morphology ♦ INSTRUCTIONS: Click on the link below to access the poster of the lesson. Please contact the author […]

Lesson Plan: Calvert Cliffs Environment Past and Present

February 20th, 2018 by

♦ SUMMARY: Calvert Cliffs Environments Past and Present – A lesson created by Pat Sullivan Gronert (@pat-sullivan-gronert) and George Powell (@george-powell) ♦ AUDIENCE: 9-12, High School, Ninth (9th) Grade, Tenth (10th) Grade, Eleventh (11th) Grade, Twelfth (12th) Grade ♦ TOPICS/THEMES: Paleontology, Fossils, Paleoclimate, Paleoenvironment, Climate, Environment, Locality, Maryland, Ecology ♦ INSTRUCTIONS: Click on the link below to access the poster of […]

1 2 3 5