Florida Fossils- Fourth Grade Lesson Plan

September 27th, 2017 by

♦ SUMMARY: Florida Fossils – This lesson was implemented during a teacher professional development opportunity at the Florida Museum on September 27th, 2017. ♦ AUDIENCE: Fourth (4th) Grade ♦ TOPICS/THEMES: Identification, Fossils, Paleontology, Paleoenvironment, […]

Lesson Plan Poster: Paleo Invasions: For Better or For Worse? A Philosophical Debate

September 20th, 2017 by

♦ SUMMARY: Paleo Invasions: For Better or For Worse? A Philosophical Debate – A lesson created by Stephanie Killingsworth (@skillingsworth), Jennifer Bauer (@jbauer), and Aaron Woodruff (@aaron-woodruff) ♦ AUDIENCE: 6-8, Middle School, […]

Lesson Plan Poster: The Testudine Shell Shape – A True Test of Time

September 6th, 2017 by

♦ SUMMARY: The Testudine Shell Shape – A True Test of Time – A lesson created by Stephanie Killingsworth (@skillingsworth), Jennifer Manner (@jennifer-manner), Paul Kester (@paul-kester), and David Lindberg (@david-lindberg) ♦ […]

Lesson Plan Poster: Using Fossils to Determine Earth’s Past

August 30th, 2017 by

♦ SUMMARY: Using Fossils to Determine Earth’s Past – A lesson created by Lara Greene (@lara-greene), Glenn Greene (@glenn-greene), and Danielle Brennan (@danielle-brennan) ♦ AUDIENCE: 9-12, High School, Ninth (9th) Grade, Tenth […]

Resource: FLMNH Climate Change Wall Infographic

August 11th, 2017 by

♦ SUMMARY: The Florida Museum of Natural History has provided a PDF version of their climate change wall panels.  This is a great resource for any classroom! ♦ AUDIENCE: 4-12, Elementary School, […]

Lesson Plan: Anatomical Similarities and Differences Between Modern and Ancient Humans Using Fossil Evidence

June 26th, 2017 by

♦ SUMMARY: Anatomical Similarities and Differences Between Modern and Ancient Humans Using Fossil Evidence – A lesson created by Molly Shaw (@mollydeich) and Luke Webb ♦ AUDIENCE: Sixth (6th) Grade, Middle School ♦ TOPICS/THEMES: Archaeology, Anthropology, […]

Lesson Plan: Mammal Skull vs Reptile Skull

May 23rd, 2017 by

♦ SUMMARY: Mammal Skull vs Reptile Skull – A lesson created by Rebecca Mussetter ♦ AUDIENCE: Third (3rd) Grade, Elementary School ♦ TOPICS/THEMES: Scientific Method, Classification, Measurement, Taxonomy, Creative, Hands-On, Morphology, Mammals, Reptiles, Fossils, […]

Lesson Plan: Dissecting “Battle of the Americas”

May 15th, 2017 by

♦ SUMMARY: Dissecting “Battle of the Americas” – A lesson created by Julie Hughes (@julie-hughes) and Stephanie Killingsworth (@skillingsworth) ♦ AUDIENCE: 6-8, Middle School, Sixth (6th) Grade, Seventh (7th) Grade, Eighth (8th) Grade […]

Lesson Plan: How Big Was Megalodon?

May 3rd, 2017 by

♦ SUMMARY: How Big Was Megalodon? – A lesson by PaleoTEACH, Victor Perez (@vperez) and Megan Hendrickson (@mhendrickson) ♦ AUDIENCE: 6-8, Middle School, Sixth (6th) Grade, Seventh (7th) Grade, Eighth (8th) Grade […]

Lesson Plan: Changing Climates and Evolutionary Responses Preserved in the Fossil Record

April 4th, 2017 by

♦ SUMMARY: Changing Climates and Evolutionary Responses Preserved in the Fossil Record – A lesson plan by Geoscientist-in-the-Park Gina Roberti (@groberti) ♦ AUDIENCE: 9-12, High School, Ninth (9th) Grade, Tenth (10th) Grade, […]