Help with Crinoid Identification

Homepage Forums What Is It? Help with Crinoid Identification

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Jordan Oldham
    Participant

I recently went fossil hunting at some Silurian deposits near my university, and found an almost complete calyx. First attempt at identification was using the Fossils of Ohio book, but the crinoids from the Cedarville Dolomite in the book are blobs with hardly any detail. Second attempt I searched for crinoids found in the Lockport Dolomite in northern Ohio (since the Cedarville is equivalent with the Lockport). I thought I identified it as Eucalyptocrinus crassus, but I am second guessing myself since I found some Eucalyptocrinus in our collection. The plates are small compared to Eucalyptocrinus. The posterior end in Eucalyptocrinus is much broader than the specimen I found. My last attempt was using the Treatise of Invertebrate Paleontology, but I am not an expert in invertebrates to be able to understand the species descriptions. I could really use anybodies help in identification as well as any thoughts on how I could better prep the specimen. I attached three photo with a scale bar of 2 cm and I hope the pictures give enough detail of the specimen. If you would like better pictures I can definitely try to get better photos. Thanks for the assistance!

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    Jack Kallmeyer

@jordan-oldham  Jordan,  I don’t see in your description where you found this other than near your university.  You didn’t identify the university.  Sorry if I missed something.  I’d like to see clearer photos in hi-res that I could enlarge.  Having said that, here is what I think so far:

This does appear to be a Eucalyptocrinites (this is the currently accepted genus as they have dropped using “crinus” on this one).