Increasing Visibility: K-12 Mentorship

Homepage Forums Women in Paleontology Forum Increasing Visibility: K-12 Mentorship

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author

Hi everyone,

Wow, what a great forum thread, and great topics so far!

I’m interested in discussing all the various ways in which we’re increasing visibility for women in paleontology, by helping to mentor and guide young women and kids at the K-12 level.

For example, I teach at The Webb Schools / Alf Museum in Claremont, California, where we have the unique experience of meshing our classrooms with an accredited paleontology museum on campus. When I was a public school teacher, I used to bring in real invertebrate fossils, and collaborated with digital fossil projects to bring fossils to my kids, even when the collections themselves were far away.

The majority of my students interested in paleontology have been women, but how to we keep this trend buffeted all the way up through college, grad school, and beyond?

Looking forward to sharing ideas!

Michelle Barboza
    Participant

Hi @taorminalepore, thanks for creating this new forum topic – I think there are a lot of people interested in contributing to this conversation!

To all interested in learning about increasing visibility for K-12 students, especially in terms of role models and mentorship, a recent thread on the Women in Paleo: Spotlights topic ventured into these ideas. @egardner posted a link to an article entitled “Greater equality in science will take more than Ada Lovelace Day”  published recently on NewScientist.com.  Eleanor went on to say: