Need Help Help identifying a tooth

Homepage Forums What Is It? Need Help Help identifying a tooth

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Rene Dominguez
    Participant

Hi, I found this tooth on a beach in eastern Havana (Tarara), Cuba. I have no idea what animal could it be, can anyone please help me to identify it?

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.
    Victor Perez
    Participant

Hi Rene, this is from an invertebrate. It’s either the part of a hinge of a clam or part of the feeding apparatus (called aristotle’s lantern) of a sea urchin. I’m sure with some photos from different angles, we could say which of the two it is.

@jbauer
    do you agree / can you tell which it is?

Matthew Downing
    Participant

My best guess is a badly worn shark tooth

Rene Dominguez
    Participant

thank you, for your quick anwser Mr Perez. i send you more pictures. i’m a software developer so I do not have experience on fossil identification (or living sea animals identification either) <span lang=”en”>but I have to notice that the piece was on the seashore in an area of ​​hard waves with many stones around it, I guess a non-vertebrate structure could not resist such hard waves. Also the piece have almost a conic shape, i have seen pictures of aristotle’s lantern of sea urchin they have a lot of irregularities on his shape maybe erosion give it that shape? i thinks it’s difficult because it’s almost a perfect cone. also the size of the piece is 5 cm in lenght it’s hard to imagine such a big sea urchin or clam so close to the seashore. Any way as i tell you i have no experience on identification fossils or animals pieces and i know it’s very hard only using a picture. Thank you again for your help.
    </span>

Attachments:
    Rene Dominguez
    Participant

sending more pictures

Attachments:
    Rene Dominguez
    Participant

more pictures

Attachments:
    Rene Dominguez
    Participant

last two pictures

Attachments: